A little thing called “Cost Per Wear”

Making a new clothing purchase but worried about the wallet? It might be a good thing to think about cost per wear before falling in love too much. Cost per wear is a formula designed to help a budget and wardrobe conscious person see the value of the garment they are buying. The idea is that you divide the cost from how many times you wear it to get a value of use.

So say we have our Jericho linen top at $89.

I myself have this top in olive and wear it approximately 6-8 times a month. I have had it for 8 months (meaning 64times).

$89 divided by 64 wears = $1.40 per wear.

The longer I wear it the lower the cost per wear will be. One of my goals in my closet is to have everything work with everything so that I can have as low of a cost per wear as possible with all of my garments as well as each piece lasting as long as possible!

I don’t think on numbers to much when cost per wear comes up as to should I buy this item or not in the store, but more about what will I wear it with that I currently own. I use my rule of 5. If it works with 5 things I currently have then I know I will wear it multiple times and the cost per wear is worth it.

This formula is very useful in terms of numbers when purging your closet. If you are on the fence about tossing an item you love but have not worn it very often, the cost per wear is high. So ask yourself, “Is it worth keeping if I don’t wear it.”

It is a tool in may ways to justify a purchase or to justify keeping an item in the closet over time…but no matter which method you apply it to, make your purchases and closet purging based on loving an item and feeling good in it.

Erin, Your Devil May Wear Stylist
Erin, Your Devil May Wear Stylist

 

Leave a Reply

